When the days are not going as you planned, remember to place your trust in Jesus

the-struggle-is-part-of-the-story-whitney-english

We all have days when things don’t go quite as we planned.  Maybe there is a financial difficulty that arose, an unexpected expense that really throws your budget for a loop.  Maybe there was an accident and somebody was injured or you or someone in your family has become ill, either from an everyday type sickness such as a cold or flu or maybe something more serious. Sometimes we just wake up and may be having “a day”, you know the types of days I am talking about.  The days when our minds seem cluttered with worry or anxious thoughts, when it seems nothing is going right.  Our mood is just a little sour, or maybe our kids are exhibiting less than desirable behaviors that really bring us to the brink of frustration.

These are the days, when no matter how hard WE TRY, we cannot seem to reach our ideal expectation for the day.  When we have days like this regardless of the circumstances, I think it becomes a great time for reflection.  Perhaps, we need to stop trying long enough to allow God to do the work in us and our situation that he has been doing and will continue doing  in spite of our feelings.  Isn’t that great! In spite of how I might feel right now, God is continuing his work in me.

My plans for the last few days have seemed this way.  Let me tell you i had several really awesome days as well.  I felt relaxed, my children were cooperating so well, we were able to keep our schedules, accomplish many tasks and still have time to relax and enjoy the fresh air.  It was great! I felt on top of the world, like nothing could get me down, and maybe that was my problem.  I began to lose focus on my trust and faith in Jesus, not that I didn’t trust him or continue to have faith in him, but in a way that my energy and time was spent on so much else going on that I forgot to stop and just be thankful for all of my many blessings.  So then I wake up and my days aren’t going quite the way I want them to.  My children became sick, and that always throws a kink in a family’s plans, am I right? At this point my mind becomes cluttered with worry and anxiety.  Yes, I know better, we are to cast all our worries and cares upon Jesus, so why can’t I shake the frustration off and continue to be happy?  My kids don’t want to do their reading, the laundry is piling up along with many other chores, the house seems more dirty than usual and I begin to feel claustrophobic in my own home.  I continue trying to fix the situation on my own, because well, silly me, I continue to think that I can do it! I can fix it! I can make it right!

Wrong! (I am chuckling to myself at this point) now that I am writing this in retrospect, looking back at the last few days. I had filled my mind with expectations on how I wanted my children to be, how I wanted my own mood to be, and the things that I wanted to do, both tasks as well as leisure activities.  I am realizing now that sometimes we have to let go of our expectations and assumptions about the future.

Matthew 6:34   “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”   NKJ

 “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.” MSG

I have come to the conclusion that what makes the unexpected seem so bad is, we are comparing our present reality with what we wanted it to be.  Sometimes we won’t get what we want and things won’t go as we planned, but we have to keep believing and trusting in Jesus.  We have to continue to have faith That God’s ways are not our ways.  There will always be good days and bad days, the important thing is to continue to find Joy within yourself even when you are having a bad day.  Jesus never promised our life would always be easy, but He gave us His promises in scripture to help us when we struggle, whatever the struggles we face may be.

Please be encouraged when troubles arise, take comfort in knowing that Jesus is with you. Find solace in scripture as you meditate on His word.  Tomorrow is a new day, just don’t get caught up in your own plans. Allow yourself to be led hour by hour by our savior, Jesus.

We Can’t But God Can

-Helen Steiner Rice (Love Gifts)

Why things happen as they do

we do not always know, 

And we cannot always fathom

why our spirits sink so low.

We flounder in our dark distress, 

we are wavering and unstable, 

But when we’re most inadequate, 

the Lord God’s always able-

For though we are incapable, 

God’s powerful and great, 

And there’s no darkness of the

mind God cannot penetrate…

And all that is required of us

whenever things go wrong

Is to trust in God implicitly 

with a faith that’s deep and strong…

And while He may not instantly

unravel all the strands

Of the tangled thoughts that trouble us, 

He completely understands-

And in His time, if we have faith, 

He will gradually restore

The brightness to our spirits that

We’ve been longing for…

So remember there’s no cloud too

dark for God’s Light to penetrate

If we keep on believing and 

have faith enough to wait.

One thought on “When the days are not going as you planned, remember to place your trust in Jesus

Leave a Reply

