Decadent Healthy Truffles

20150805_185540

So I wanted to make a dessert for dinner tonight using ingredients I had on hand.  I found several recipes for truffles but I was always missing an ingredient or two. I really wanted to make a healthier version than most of the recipes I came across.  So I created My own!

I made a healthy-ish version of chocolate truffles.  Shhh.. dont tell, nobody needs to know!

20150805_173556-01

RECIPE

Yields approximately 18-21 Servings depending on size

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Dark unsweetened chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup Dannon light and fit yogurt
  • 2 TBS almond butter or peanut butter
  • 2 tsp Unsweetened dark cocoa
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 2 tsp splenda or stevia
  • 2 tsp coconut flour
  • 2 tsp fiber powder

Heat the chocolate chips in a pan on low heat stirring frequently until completely melted, then add the almond butter or peanut butter, stir until smooth.

After that is completely melted and smooth add in the yogurt, cocoa powder, protein powder, splenda or stevia and the fiber and coconut flour.  Continue mixing and stirring with a spatula.  The dough will begin to become tougher to stir.

Place in a bowl and set in the refrigerator for about 15-20 minutes or longer to cool.

After removing from the refrigerator take small amounts, roll into balls and then roll in extras of your choice!  I used  organic coconut flakes, sugar free sprinkles, and dark unsweetened chocolate chips and chopped walnuts for my variety.  Feel free to use whatever toppings you choose.

Place in refrigerator again for 1-2 hours then serve chilled.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Decadent Healthy Truffles

Leave a Reply

